the wulf.

05.19.2012 8:00 p.m.

Los Angeles Trombone Collective featuring James Miller

The Los Angeles Trombone Collective performs an all trombone concert of new works including four compositions by members of the ensemble: Kevin Austin, Matt Barbier, Adam Dippre, and Tyler Jordan; John Cage's Solo for Sliding Trombone in 4.0 stereo; a piece for trombone quartet and electronics by Julian Valdivieso; and Tommy Pederson's unpublished masterpiece, Cogent Caprice (1971), featuring James Miller (, principal trombonist of the Los Angeles Philharmonic.

The Los Angeles Trombone Collective performs a wide repertoire of many arrangements of compositions never intended for trombone choir, or even trombones; ranging from the Renaissance era to today. Along with that, the group also ha s a growing library of original compositions written by fellow members. The Los Angeles Trombone Collective's main mission is to pursue new levels of trombone ensemble performance, while also establishing strong networks and ties within the community.


Kevin Austin: Pale Blue Dot (2011) tentet

John Cage: Solo for Sliding Trombone (1960) quartet

Tommy Pederson: Cogent Caprice (1971) solo with sextet

Tyler Jordan: "...and the tide will call us back to the sea with a recklessabandon" (2012) eleven trombones

Julian Valdivieso: Untitled Time Liquids (2012) quartet with electronics

Matt Barbier: #146 A. #3 (2011) eleven trombones

Adam Dippre: Cup 'O' Joe (2007) sextet